Friday, December 28, 2012

Muskel - Seven Days Of Pain (2003) (Black Plagve - infect 05)

1. Spoonfed Entrails 
2. Ingen Skall Skonas 
3. Din Mor
4. För Syftet Ämnad
5. Svett Och Blod
6. Scars
7. Ensam

Original Description from Heavy Electronics: 
Muskel is a new project put out by the ever-prolific Swedish noise master Henrik Nordvargr Björkk. Muskel is release by Black Plagve. Black Plagve in turn is a mutation of Malignant Records of Baltimore, Maryland. Muskel – Seven Days of Pain is marketed as a no frills noise album. No references to dark ambient or neoclassical musings apply here. Muskel is pure unadulterated hardcore old school noise. Complete with ear shredding sirens, white noise walls of sound and angst filled vocalist that voices our collective rage.

Muskel Begins with a track titled “Spoonfed entrails.” The song begins somewhat subdued and atmospheric. Reverberating drones form the foundation of the song as they putter out a steady throbbing bass. A shrill siren joins the music as it slides between tones. It is unnerving and piercing in its volume and is acoustically in contrast with the reverberating bass. A lengthy interlude is spent tweaking the piercing siren. Noise finally begins to dominate as the reverberating bass and piercing siren are fully engulfed in a sonic tornado of white noise and distorted vocals. The effect is a slow build up into a full on noise attack.

The fourth song on the album is tilted “For Syftet Amnad.” This song makes the intro sound like a strumming guitar ballad. Harsh noise is unleashed on the listener from the get go. The music is slightly rhythmic with a monotonous pulsing core. Harsh screeching noise is shot across the foundation of the rumbling bass and throbbing drones. Pounding metal sounds cascade over the torrent of noise in an over the top assault that deafens the listener. Akin to a 747 crashing across a runway in flames after a failed landing. The sound of screeching noise and rumbling bass is relentless and domineering.

The sixth song on the album is titled “Scars.” “Scars” stands out in representing a more harnessed sound. The sounds are more muffled and submissive. The effect is one of a snarling badger that is being forced into compliance. Feelings of festering rage and emotions that cannot be contained are invoked in the listener. The music is expertly manipulated to allow key elements to break free and lash out against the heavy handed control. I found this song much more interesting than the previous assaults of noise. A sense of aiming for something new and unique was communicated by the composition. Nevertheless, do not worry just as you are collecting your shattered nerves Muskel releases his battle cry in all it ferocity. Nothing is spared in the ensuing onslaught of distortion and musical blood lust.

Fans of noise and Radical Faeries who follow the work of Henrik Nordvargr Björkk will definitely want this release to complete your collection. It is a great up front noise album. It is not quite at the point of pushing the envelope. I would consider the release more of an exploration of the established noise terrain. The benefits of the music lay within the nuances and deeply imbedded manipulations found in the music. If you are equipped mentally to handle being hammered by noise while you follow the undercurrents of the music then you will get something out of Muskel. If the idea of noise and its manipulation does appeal then of course you might want to pass and look towards some Malignant Records releases that are more accessible for noise novices. Perhaps such novice Faeries would be more comfortable pursuing other Malignant artists such as Navicon Torture Technologies or Jarl.

As far as ritual and spiritual work goes, there could be many options for this album. Perhaps used as a psychic expellant or for mental endurance exercises. In the hands of the wicked, this music could easily be played to drive out demons like your neighbor or *censored*y roommate! Remember when you play Muskel play it loud and without mercy!

Review stolen from Heathen Harvest.

Download: Zip, MP3

No comments:

Post a Comment